An Homage to Today’s Weather

The cool breeze tickled my cheeks once more. My hair danced with the wind. This moment was the moment when I feel peace, instead of my doubts abducting me. I touched the pages of the book in my hands and I started to wonder. I stared up into the grey sky. Is it really time to go to the next chapter? Will my story end like the one in this book and many others that I’ve read?

Voices, there were voices amidst the sound of the rain pounding the pavement. My mind flew back to the present time and I recognized it. It was your voice. You ran past me. I could feel the color rising in my cheeks, so I stared down at the words in my book, trying to hide it. And I saw it written there, as if it was meant for myself.

“She wanted to tell him the truth, yet she doesn’t know where would she find the courage to do so.”

I looked at you, trying hard to hide the smile that was starting to form. You looked at me, with that same twinkle in your eyes. For a moment it was just us two. For a moment, it felt as if you were the guy, with whom I’ve had those conversations with. For a moment, it seemed that you’d be the one. You smiled at me and you turned away and I kept my eyes back on my book again.

Another moment had come and gone, yet my mind still won’t let me tell the truth about you, about how I feel, about us. I’ve planned the words in my head, yet I can’t pluck up the courage to say them. What’s wrong with saying this anyway? Why am I so afraid of telling you the truth, that I still love you?

PS : This little passage is inspired by today’s weather. It’s been cloudy and drizzling the entire day, complete with the cool breeze, a perfect weather to write something about what a cloudy day describes : doubts. Hope you like it. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “An Homage to Today’s Weather

  1. Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

What do you think?

