Un autre avion et je repars – Day 1

Going to the same place with different people will definitely produce different experiences. That’s what I learned this past week after visiting the enchanting island of Bali – again, but with different company. This time, I traveled with my family.

A huge difference from this trip is the airline I used to travel. When I traveled with my friends, I got on quite an expensive plane since the other airlines of choice didn’t offer the comfort nor safety track record I wanted. This time, we traveled using a low-cost airline with great record and service : Air Asia (this is not an advertisement, by the way). This means… we had to wait in Terminal 3 of Soekarno-Hatta International Airport which is easily the best of all three terminals.

In case you’re wondering about the title of this post, it’s my modified lyric from the French version of Jetlag by Simple Plan and Marie Mai. “Un autre avion et je repars” means “another plane and I leave again”. This is due to the fact that the interior of terminal 3 really reminds me of Jetlag’s music video set.

The flight was uneventful. There was no entertainment system, so I spent it gossiping with my sister and taking photos and videos.

 

Getting off the plane to Bali’s airport, somehow I didn’t feel that excitement I felt when I arrived there with my friends. Maybe because this trip wasn’t exactly a motivation the way the first trip was? Because I was already familiar with the island and going there again in a short period of time after my first trip gave me the same impressions? I’ll never know.

We stayed at JOCS Boutique Hotel & Spa at Legian. If I were to write a review about the hotel, I’d give it five – no, six stars. The service was awesome, the staff were all so nice and full of smiles. The hotel building and interior were both fine enough for me.

We got welcome drinks and towels! 🙂

Our room, which is ginormous.

We dropped our luggage at our room and off we went to Pura Luhur Uluwatu. My Math teacher sent me a BlackBerry message that morning, giving me a sort of to-do list in Bali, which included enjoying the sunset at Uluwatu. I didn’t go there on my first trip so I anticipated the journey. Up and downhill we went, the temple being quite far from my hotel.

Pura Luhur Uluwatu really had an awesome view, overlooking the ocean from the top of a cliff. But the monkeys there sort of freaked me out. I’m not a fan of animals at all, especially rumor has it these monkeys can be thieves. Thankfully I came at the time they were being fed so they didn’t disturbed any of the visitors.

Next to my Mom is Om Gede, by the way. Our guide during our time in Bali.

A ray of light flooding through clouds is not just imaginary.

These photos are my dad’s, by the way. I was too scared that the monkeys would steal my glasses and my camera that I decided to stow the first away and gave the latter to my dad. Once we got to the dance performance venue, my camera went back to my hands.

The main reason we came to Pura Luhur Uluwatu wasn’t for the sunset. A beautiful sunset can be commonly found everyday wherever you are in Bali. We came for the traditional Kecak dance. I’ve never watched a Kecak dance and I have to say, I’m quite impressed.

Dat crowd…

The dance was based around the story of Ramayana. So there was a couple (the man named Rama and the woman named Sita). One day, Sita was kidnapped by the evil Rahwana with the help of the giant Marica. Rama fought to bring his love back from the evil king with the help of the white monkey, Hanoman.

The show was brilliant. I was curious about how the dancers who chanted the entire 1.5 or 2 hours managed to keep chanting without once taking a sip of water. I was blown away by Hanoman’s performance, his entrance and how he won the crowd. Hanoman simply owned that night. I also love how Hanoman and Rahwana’s cronies fought with fire all around them.

We wrapped our first day by having dinner at Jimbaran. The moment I entered the beach area that night, I was reminded of my friends. How we played with the sand at night and sang ad talked and how much I miss them (I still miss them so much now). We had dinner at New Moon cafe, which was expensive but definitely worth it. The waiters and cooks were very nice and funny. The food was great too. I don’t eat fish, so I wouldn’t comment on the fish. But the grilled shrimp tasted so good, I finished the platter.

The most fun I’ve had from that night was spontaneously singing “Marry You” and “I’m Yours” with the cafe singers. Just by singing, I went from not exactly enthusiastic to feeling extremely alive.

People keep trying to find ways to feel alive, but sometimes that feeling can be found in the simplest things. And yes… sometimes all you need to do to feel alive is being surrounded by nice people, having nice food, and maybe some singing. 🙂

What do you think?

