Going Tech-less, Nature, and Its Inhabitants

Hello there, people of the world! I have been missing you so much yet the stars haven’t allowed us to meet again (hectic schedule, failed internet connection, tiredness, etc.) I owe you a story about where I was last weekend – a story I’ve been wanting to tell ever since I got back from the trip yet I’ve never found the time to tell.

While reading the post, I highly recommend you listening to the track (because this is what I was listening to as I wrote the post)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Opened the window and was just blown away by all the green.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Someday I will own a house and build this swing set. Someday.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Vintage dishes, anybody?

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

“Branches were sewn by the color of green”

SONY DSC

The art we make reflects who we are. My mom’s batik was of course, neat and detailed. And mine was… clumsy.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The highlight of this trip is easily shooting arrows. I can finally tick this item of my bucket list. And yes, I honestly felt like Katniss Everdeen.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Morning shots after early morning biking.

SONY DSC

Breakfast was followed by more archery. And this was the arrow I shot from my bow. I think the entire mountain could have heard me screech in joy over this.

SONY DSC

The trip was ended with me flying from the top of a hill and across a lake.

I have been to so many trips but this one has struck me as one of the most memorable. I was at the foot of a mountain and the only place where you can find cell phone reception there is at this particular spot by the lake. So of course, I had no choice but to go tech-less. But having little technology actually opened my eyes to some of the coolest things ever as you can see from the photos above. Only by the evening did I discover that there was actually some wi-fi, but then I had been quite attached to the tech-less thing that I only chatted with some people, showed people the cool place I was at through Path, Instagram, and Twitter, then closed it again. And for the first time in a very long time, I actually slept at 8 PM instead of my regular 11 PM.

If it weren’t for the little amount of technology, I wouldn’t have had a wonderful conversation with the kind lady who taught me how to make batik (who knew what I did in Jogja and taught me so much on humility and being nice.) I wouldn’t have made the acquaintance of three awesome guys who taught + encouraged me during archery and were as happy as I was when I got that bulls-eye. I wouldn’t have discovered the kindness of everyone – literally everyone in that place. I wouldn’t appreciate the beauty that God has put together in front of me.

Going tech-less actually brought so much positivity that I’m beginning not to use my phone so much or check my social media updates so much to appreciate the fun in real life (so if I don’t reply from your message or something for a long time, you know why.)

Thank you so much, Aldepos Salaca for the joy, positivity, beauty, and lessons you have brought into my life. The long road trip to get there was so worth it. Yes, you have to visit this place. You really have to 🙂

Ps : all of the photos are taken using Sonny and yes, I was using Manual mode (except the photos where there’s me). I have actually grown to love Manual so very much in this trip.

What do you think?

