Regarding Health and Dieting

[Before I begin rambling on about this issue, I would like to state that I’m not a nutritionist nor a fitness coach and my advice shouldn’t be taken as some sort of code to follow. I’m just an advocate of healthy diet and self-esteem, voicing her perspective on things. Please note this before you start reading. And if you’d like to view the Bahasa Indonesia version of this post, just right click and select “Translate this page”. ]

Hi there!

Recently, there has been a craze for dieting and being thin within the walls of my school as well as my close circle of friends. Everybody wants to be thin and be within society’s standards of beautiful – even when their weight is considerably ideal. Being a girl, I understand this and I feel this a lot too. Society puts this constant pressure on us that thin is in or guys won’t like us if we’re not thin. Personally, I hate it when people discuss dieting or weight loss or things like that. But, on this occasion, I feel the need to voice my opinion because a lot of girls are dieting the wrong way.

The wrong way? You mean skipping meals is wrong? Well, I sure do mean that.

A lot of my friends are skipping meals in order to lose weight – either skipping dinner or breakfast or cutting portions. Well, I would like to tell you that this is not dieting. Skipping meals won’t make you lose weight because it will activate the fat-binding hormones in your body next time you eat, plus it endangers your health.

How would I know this? There was a time in junior high school when I did this. I was cutting portions off of my dinner when I needed food to refill my energy. I ended up unable  to eat without throwing up during a really busy week. That’s what lack of food does to your stomach and I’ve sworn since then not to ever do anything like that again.

Anyway, as I was saying, skipping meals will only put your health in jeopardy. When you skip meals, the level of acid in your stomach goes up and when it goes up too much, it starts making wounds on the linings of your stomach. Not only that, but skipping meals will also make you lack energy – thus, not performing well in anything.

Not fun, right? Not at all indeed.

I’m a firm believer that diet should be for the purpose of your own health before the purpose of losing weight. So whatever diet you apply to yourselves, it shouldn’t lead to unhealthy side effects and it shouldn’t make you sick in the process. So let’s cut skipping meals out of the the ways to diet, shall we?

So what is the proper way of dieting? Just replace the unhealthy sources of fat with healthier choices of food. 

(picture belongs to UK’s Food Standards Agency)

Here are some examples as to how I’ve been doing it.

  • Replace potato chips or MSG-ridden snacks with fruits or yogurt. Recently, I’ve been in love with Elle & Vire’s yogurt and Quaker’s Oat Cookies. Seriously, do this for two weeks and you’ll never look at your old snacks the same way again.
  • Decrease the amount of deep-fried food you eat. I haven’t had a fried chicken in two weeks now and mostly eating soup.
  • Eat your veggies! This is super important because vegetables provide vitamins your body needs. I’ve been digging green beans, lettuce, and carrots.
  • Indulge yourself when you have to. I mean, don’t let this healthy eating thing make you freak out every time you eat something unhealthy. Life is for living, after all. Just commit to your healthy eating habit whenever you can.
  • Most important of all, stay committed! How? It’s important that you adjust these healthy eating habits to your own personal taste as well. If you don’t like green peas, then you don’t need to eat that. Eat the vegetables that you like and customize your own healthy meals.

A way to be even healthier as well as losing weight is to work out. There is no healthy way to lose weight that doesn’t involve working out. This is important as you will burn out the calories you consume as well as tone your body. Working out also generates endorphin, a hormone which will make you feel happier. What I’ve learned from working out actively the past three weeks is that after every workout I finished, I felt a lot stronger and I got better sense of how much I’m actually capable of. So I work out everyday to keep testing my limits and get that strong feeling again.

But it’s important to know your limits as well and have a rest day whenever you feel sick or injured. Don’t push yourselves to the point of injury because when you’re injured, you won’t be able to work out at all. Get some rest, maintain a healthy eating habit, take good care of yourselves, then get back to working out.

For workout, I’ve been following routines from Tone It Up because they can be done at home with minimum equipment and they are suited to my capabilities as a girl. I usually do daily toning exercise and get some cardio at least twice a week from either HIIT or running. They also have plenty of workout playlists, healthy food recipes, and  a very supportive community.

Finally, I would like to say that at the end of the day, your health and well-being comes first. Not your weight, not your looks, but your own health. If you’re healthy inside and out, you’re going to feel good about yourself and that makes you a radiant person – regardless of how much you weigh on that scale. You should never let that scale define who you are as person. At the end of the day, looks attract people but it’s your personality that keeps them close. Be confident in who you are as a person and let your confidence accentuate the beauty you already have.

Cheerio!

Ps : I’m not the best person when it comes to working out nor eating healthy. A lot of my friends are doing it better than me. I’m not perfect and I slip up and get back to my unhealthy habits sometimes too. But, some of my friends have been asking for this post though so I thought I’d share it with not only them, but also the world. I hope this helps 🙂

2 thoughts on “Regarding Health and Dieting

  1. I agree with all of this! You know what I also find unhealthy is the obsession with tracking your foods. I’ve seen girls who bring their food scales to places like Panera, and I just feel bad for them. At the end of the day I think moderation is key 🙂

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree more with you. And thank you so much for pointing out something I forgot to state. Obsession for healthy eating and counting calories just adds stress which is unhealthy so it definitely beats the purpose of healthy eating.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

