Island Creamery – Gading Walk

Okay, here’s something you need to know. Unlike most girls who go crazy over dessert, I actually don’t have a sweet tooth. Heck, I can’t even finish an entire typical-bakery-slice of cake by myself. I love savory and spicy dishes – the more spices used, the better. However, if there’s one dessert that I wouldn’t mind having, it’s molten lava cake.

The relationship with molten lava cake began when I went to my friend’s birthday lunch where they had molten lava cake. I still remember the taste of that first lava cake like I remember details of my first date. The heat of the cake which was still fresh from the oven was the exact contrast to the cold of the ice cream. That was the point that embarked my search for another lava cake like that.

Only a few lava cakes have been up to that standard. Island Creamery’s was one of them.

There are several Island Creamery outlets in Indonesia. I visited the one in Gading Walk because I was at Mall Kelapa Gading that day with my best friend.

The interior of Island Creamery’s Gading Walk outlet has a bit of a vintage, American diner kind of feel with red and cream being the dominating colors. With a gigantic, ceiling-to-floor window making it possible to look inside, the outlet definitely stood out among the row of eateries lining the Gading Walk area.

2014-12-17 17.09.11

At the back of the restaurant, there’s a playground area with tiny tables and coloring books for kids. There are also vintage posters lining the wall.

2014-12-17 17.14.17

 

The first thing you’ll see upon entering the store is the huge freezer, displaying cakes that look too tempting not to at least have a look at. Next to it is the ice cream display where you can place your order.

And now, let’s talk about that molten lava cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake with Organic Strawberry Sorbet (IDR 39.000)

2014-12-17 17.15.28

Based on presentation, the cake definitely looks good with that criss-cross glazed chocolate on the plate and that volume of the cake. The cake rose perfectly and didn’t fall in the middle. However, it was a bit saddening to see that the sorbet had melted already when I got it.

2014-12-17 17.16.24

I made a mistake here of not snapping a pic of how the inside of the cake looked. But let me tell you, it was cooked well. The chocolate inside just oozing out smoothly, its consistency a bit on the runny side but still having that little bit of thickness it was supposed to have.

Really, slicing the cake open was a glorious moment in itself.

Now, the main reason why I thought this was one of those molten lava cakes that were up too par was the taste. As a person who hates it when a dessert is too sweet, this chocolate cake really pleased me. It had a dark chocolate taste (which made me suspect that it was made of dark chocolate) and had absolutely little to no sugar added into the batter. Even the powdered sugar sprinkled on top of the cake didn’t add much sweetness to the taste. So to those of you who have a sweet tooth, I wouldn’t recommend this dish to you. But for other human beings who detest sweet desserts, I would give you a go ahead when it comes to this one.

As for the sorbet, the waiter told me that it was organic and after tasting it, I believed him. It was very natural and had no sugar added into the mixture at any rate. It tasted purely of strawberries – which added a great punch of acid when eaten with the cake.

While waiting for the cake to come along, I saw a sign on the table that said by snapping a pic of the dessert I had at their outlet, following and tagging them on Instagram, I could get a free cupcake. Being the absolute cheap person that we are (and noticing the adorable display of cupcakes at the front of the restaurant), I decided to give it a go.

Red Velvet & Chocolate Cupcakes (FREE!)

2014-12-17 17.37.32

I took the red velvet one and my best friend took the chocolate one.

I kid you not, it was the best red velvet thing I’ve ever tasted.

People have a tendency to make red velvet desserts sickly sweet or having too much cream cheese – which is sickening as well. This red velvet cupcake possesses none of those weaknesses. It was heavenly, not too sweet but not too dominated by cream cheese as well. The sprinkles on top of the cream cheese frosting balanced out the heavy taste of the cheese. The cupcake itself didn’t taste like a bag of sugar exploded in it. However, the consistency of the frosting was a bit too thick for my liking and the cupcake tasted like it was such a big portion given its tiny size.

I would recommend the red velvet one if you ever got yourself a free cupcake – yes, the waiter will give you the right to pick a flavor between chocolate or red velvet – because the chocolate one tasted weird. I took a bite out of my friend’s cupcake because she said it tasted like an orange and she was right. There was a citrus tinge to the cupcake which was just out of place.

Overall, I truly enjoyed having a dessert that accommodated my lost love with sweet things here. I would totally recommend this place for those of you who don’t have a sweet tooth too because nothing here is too sweet. However, if you absolutely love sweet desserts, then I suggest you pick another dessert place.  The only weakness to this place is their playlist of songs revolving around the theme of lost love and moving on. That was a bit of a mood killer because the place looked so happy but sounded so sad, so that could use a change. But all in all, this place is definitely on my top places to eat list.

What do you think?

