Mary’s Bucket List

As a dreamer with plenty of wanderlust and an ISTJ with desire for specific goals, I’ve always liked the idea of making bucket lists containing everything I want to do in my life. There’s nothing that satisfies me more when I travel than conversations with strangers and ticking items on my bucket list. When life gets tough and/or dull, adding and removing items from my bucket list is the thing that de-stresses me. But for someone who loves bucket lists so much, I’ve actually never really talked about it on this blog.

My bucket list is actually an ever-growing one containing all the things I want to do at least once in my life. Now my number one goal in life is to visit every country in the world and every province in my home country of Indonesia at least once, so this bucket list does not exactly contain everything I want to do. Rather, it highlights the things that I really, really want to do and would like to plan for when it comes to traveling because they actually require planning.

With that being said, I present you my bucket list. *play some fancy grand entrance awesome music at this point*

1. Watch an F1 race live – preferably in Monza

As someone who’s grown up watching F1 races with my dad and now an even more passionate fan of the sport than he is, this is the number 1 item on my bucket list. I would love to see the drivers in person, say hi to them and the engineers, connect with fellow F1 fans, cheer and cuss and swear along with them, all while supporting my favorites.

Why do I attach “preferably Monza”, you may ask? That’s mainly because I’m a huge Ferrari fan even though the team has let me down a lot lately. Watching a race in Monza along with fellow Italian fans would be an absolute dream come true considering how passionate they are about the sport and The Prancing Horse.

2. Go to Disneyland Anaheim

Although this seems pretty cliche for a bucket list item, the reason it’s here is actually really personal. When I was 5, my grandpa promised me that once I got into primary school, he would take me to Disneyland in Anaheim. He passed away before he could keep that promise. My grandpa was the person who encouraged me to explore the world from the hours I spent looking at world maps with him and asking about every country because he was a traveler. Add that reason to the fact that my childhood was largely dominated by Disney and their products and boom, you’ve got yourself this bucket list item.

3. Sing along to every Coldplay song at their concert

To say Coldplay is my favorite band is an understatement. This band and their songs have been there throughout most of teenage years – even the heartbreaks and losses. The fact that they put on some of the most innovative and magical performances ever in their concerts has given me all the more reason to attend their concert and sing along to all of their songs with them.

4. Time travel

No, I don’t mean time travel as in using time machines to go back in time. I read this one article once that said that there are flights that run from Tokyo to Hawaii on January 1 (Tokyo Time) which will get you to Hawaii at December 31 (Hawaiian Time). That sounds like one of the coolest things ever and I would love to give that flight a try.

5. Ride the bobsled at the Jamaican Bobsled Museum

Because Cool Runnings is an awesome movie and the Jamaican bobsled team are really inspiring.

6. Witness the Northern Lights in Iceland

I’ve always had a fascination for lights and its combination with colors. The Northern Lights (or Aurora Borealis) is a perfect natural showcase of both of them. Combined with the beauty of Iceland I’ve fallen in love with from watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, watching The Northern Lights there has turned into a huge dream of mine.

7. Eat risotto in Italy

Not only is it home for the most passionate Ferrari fans and la dolce vita, Italy is also where my all-time favorite food originated: risotto. After tasting a risotto made by an Italian chef in Bali, I decide that I need to actually eat risotto – especially my absolute favorite risotto ai funghi – made by an Italian in Italy with everyone speaking Italian around me.

8. Visit The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

I was one of those kids whose hearts were broken when they did not receive an actual letter from Hogwarts when they turned 11. The Harry Potter universe has been a huge part of my childhood and I credit the book for teaching me a lot of English. I’ve read the entire series more than three times and watched the movies countless times. The day Pottermore was launched for the first time, I immediately got myself sorted in a house there. Heck, I’ve sent a letter to the Harry Potter studios asking the Harry Potter cast to come to Indonesia and telling them how much Hermione Granger has affected me.

So yeah, I absolutely want to visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, get my wand, and drink butterbeer.

9. Speak proper French in France

I’ve been fascinated with the language since I was five, glued to a French TV show on Playhouse Disney Channel and actually learned the language passionately throughout high school that my teacher actually told me I should actually go to France someday just to learn it if I’m that passionate. I would love to go to France – especially the enchanting Strasbourg – and speak as much French as I can there.

10. Hand my letter to Santa sometime near Christmas in the Santa Claus Village, Finland

I read an article about this place for the first time when I was 7 and since then have made up my mind that I need to visit it. This place has its own reindeer stables, post office for Santa Claus, sleigh ride facilities, and even its own museum! I no longer believe in Santa Claus but coming to this place would still bring absolute joy to the inner kid in me. Plus, how could would it be to bring home a Santa Claus stamp for my stamp album?

11. Attend mass at St. Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City

As a Roman Catholic, St. Peter’s Basilica is the dream place to attend mass (since I find Jerusalem way too crowded and commercial from all the travel stories I’ve read). Attending mass here led by the Pope himself and then visiting the Sistine Chapel, admiring Michelangelo’s frescoes and the Pieta afterwards, followed by a visit to St. Peter’s tomb is one of my dream itineraries.

12. Do a safari trip in Kenya

A safari trip is a chance to see the circle of life in its truest, most natural forms without putting yourself in too much of a danger. Seeing the animals I’ve only seen in zoos or Nat Geo Wild roam free in their natural habitat, doing the things they naturally do seem like a fantastic thing to do. Why Kenya and not Tanzania with its Mt. Kilimanjaro? Apart from being home to various animal species, Kenya is also home for the Masai tribe along with their culture. I have quite an interest in their way of life and would love to meet them in person and experience a day in the life with them.

13. Stay in a floating cottage in Derawan Islands, Indonesia

Although Maldives and Bora-Bora seem to boast the most crystal-clear seas and picturesque beaches, I find them to be a bit too posh and luxurious for my liking. It was while reading an Indonesian travel blog that I found out about Derawan and got captivated by it. With a lot less money required for a trip to these islands in Borneo, equally calm and clear sea water, sandy beaches, a lot of local life nearby, and a lake filled with stingless jellyfish, it’s hard not to fall in love with Derawan and put it on my bucket list.

14. Visit New Zealand

I’ve fallen in love with this country’s beauty, its culture, and its lifestyle so much that I initially wanted to attend university in its capital of Wellington. Heck, if there’s one other country I want to live in, it’s New Zealand. I mean, its sheep population outnumbers its humans. Everything about this country screams “bucket list” for me.

15. Go on a road trip along the USA’s West Coast

My dad always says that he’s real home is in the US’ West Coast and that driving on the Pacific Coast highway is a really brilliant experience for him. After reading more travel blogs and subscribing to West Coast-based vlogs, I can now see why. The Pacific Coast highway is absolutely beautiful and getting photos of the West Coast area from my Californian uncle has made me realize how much I want to do a road trip there with hills on one side and the coast line on the other.


Voila, there you have it – the top 15 items on my current bucket list. There’s still a lot more items I haven’t included here and more things I want to do. Again, this bucket list is simply the highlights of all the things I absolutely want to plan a trip for and I’m absolutely open to doing things not mentioned in this bucket list. Getting to do these things and ticking them off from the list is brilliant, but then again, most of the most exciting and memorable travel stories actually come from the being spontaneous and doing the unplanned.

So if you don’t have a bucket list, I honestly encourage you to make one to keep for really rough days and give you motivation in doing a lot of the mundane tasks of everyday life. And if you happen to have a bucket list like me as well, I hope you keep your eyes peeled for the spontaneous stuff as well and be open to new experiences.

What do you think?

